We’re Back!

I know that I haven’t posted in a while, but I’m hoping to remedy that from now on.  In September, Tai and I had an accident that left my BDB Pelican in a sorry state.

bike

We both got banged up and suffered some road rash, but we have mended and are on the rebound.  The Pelican is a different story though … the downtube and toptube are bent, which throws out the geometry making the frame toast.  I wish it wasn’t true, but that’s the sad reality.  With that said, I’ve been working with Gabe at BDB to get myself a new Pelican frame since I was so happy with the first one.  Word is that the new frames built by Eric Estlund at Winter Bicyles will be ready sometime around the beginning of March (and today’s March 1st).  Luckily, most of the parts on the bike survived the crash and are fine, except for the fenders and handlebar tape, which I will be ordering with the frame/fork.  One of the pedals and a corner of the Brooks B-17 Special saddle got scuffed up a little, but I will keep those to remind me that an accident can happen at any time and when you least expect it.  Here is a picture of my helmet after the crash …

P1040230

As you can see from the picture, I landed on my head and rolled.  My neck was stiff and sore for quite a while, but it seems to be fine now.  You can also see the force involved in the crash as the shoe came away from the sole that was clipped in to the pedals.  I am on the lookout for a new pair of SPD compatible cycling shoes and think I’ve narrowed it down to either a pair of Dromarti‘s

Dromarti Sportivo

Dromarti Sportivo

or Sidi Dragon 3‘s.

Sidi Dragon 3

Sidi Dragon 3

I really like both pairs of shoes and could easily see myself wearing either.  The Dromarti’s are classics that harken a bygone era, where the Sidi’s are state of the art.  I had a pair of Sidi’s about 15 years ago and found them really comfortable, but they only lasted about 1.5 years (10 hours a day heavy use).  What do you say, Dromarti or Sidi?  The only downside to the Dromarti’s is that they are out of stock and Martin doesn’t know when he’ll be getting more in (hopefully soon).

This entry was posted in Bikes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to We’re Back!

  1. The Dromartis look great to me. Also, hi remember me?? Glad to see you’ll be back in action!

    • denmankayaks says:

      Hey Tobin, of course I remember you. You dragged me through the beautiful Cowichan Valley one day last year 😉 Hope to see you out on one of the island brevets this spring!

  2. mike Croy says:

    Yeah! John is back!!!!!

Leave a Reply

